About Locus

Locus is a four-piece Vancouver-based band, comprising of vocalist Kaila So, classically-trained twins Jason and Kelvin Chu, and multi-instrumentalist Eric Chan. All band members are songwriters in their own right and have shared all writing and production duties for their independently-released studio records. Unlike many of its contemporaries, Locus did not begin as a cover band - the group has written, recorded, and performed only original songs since forming in 2006.

Locus has made nearly 40 live appearances at various local venues, including the Norman Rothstein Theatre, Tom Lee Music Hall, Vancouver Convention Centre, and Gateway Theatre. The band has also performed in support of several community events, most notably the Summer Night market and Vancouver Pride.

In the spring of 2008, Locus conceived, financed, and produced their debut independent EP “Silent Echo.” Locus released the follow-up to "Silent Echo," titled "Ambrosia," in January 2009. Lead single "Wonderland" was hand-selected for feature on the 14th volume of the Toronto Experimental Artists South Compilation.

Locus released their second EP "Shine" in November 2009 before following up with their self-titled record and fourth overall studio recording in late 2010. The album yielded three singles, "Morph," "You Are Not Alone," and "他們不明白 (They Don't Understand)."

In 2014, the members of Locus reunited after a four-year hiatus to release a new EP, "State of Consciousness."
Locus' complete performance history can be viewed here.